ACD Research Network (ACD-RN)

The ACD High-Level Meeting on Asia Academic Collaboration held at Siam University, Bangkok, Thailand co-hosted by Siam University and Asia e University from 24th to 25th February 2016, the participating universities have has agreed to establish the ACD Research Network (ACD-RN) by adopting the following as Resolution 1 of the meeting:

The participating institutions with the intention to work together towards joint research and academic work in the following areas are listed in the following:

(a) Innovative Education:

University of Santo Thomas, Philippines; Philippine Normal University; Siam University, Thailand; Norton University, Cambodia; MCCi, Myanmar; Our Lady Fatima University, Philippines; Ewha Womans University, South Korea, Asia e University.

(b) Smart Digital Economy

Ewha Womans University, South Korea; Punjabi University, India; Chengdu University of Information and Technology, China; Tokai University, Japan; Daffodil University, Bangladesh; Siam University, Thailand; Asia e University, Malaysia.

(c) Sustainable Development/Sufficiency Economy

University of Birjand, Iran; Build Bright University, Cambodia; Punjabi University, India; Siam University, Thailand; Bozorgmehr University of Qaenat, Iran; University of Surabaya (Ubaya), Indonesia; Our Lady Fatima University, Philippines; Saint Mary’s, Philippines; Ewha Womans University, South Korea.

(d) Asian Challenges/Comparative Studies

Asia e University, Malaysia; Saint Mary’s University, Philippines; Siam University, Thailand; Our Lady Fatima University, Philippines; Allameh Tabataba’i University; Iran; Ewha Woman's University, South Korea; Panjabi University, India; University of Birjand, Iran; Build Bright University, Cambodia.

(e) Internationalization of Higher Education

University of Birjand, Iran; Allameh Tabataba’i University; Iran; Ewha Womans University, South Korea; Asia e University, Malaysia; Norton University, Cambodia; Bozorgmehr University of Qaenat, Iran; Our Lady Fatima University, Philippines; Siam University, Thailand University of Surabaya (Ubaya); Daffodil University, Bangladesh; Tokai University, Japan; Build Bright University, Cambodia

The following are guiding notes for Research Collaboration as proposed and presented by AeU


Collaborative Research Programme aims to promote institutional research cooperation with the intention of providing an integrated educational/research experience for the faculty and research students to have access to two or more research environments and experts of the participating universities. This may be considered into two categories, namely,

1.1 Collaborative Post-Graduate Student Research Programmes.

This research programme will be undertaken by post-graduate students leading to a Master or Doctorate degrees. For such cases, 2 options may be considered to for registration purpose:

(a) Student to register in two participating universities with joint supervision, having to comply with admission criteria and assessment regulations at both institutions and that it will result in preferably a dual award, or

(b) Student to register in one of the participating universities only with supervision in one university and with a mentor of another university playing an advising role on an informal basis and that it will result in a single award.

However, in both cases, the post-graduate students will have the following advantages:

Fields of research will depend upon expertise and available facilities of participating universities.

Operationally, this involves a collaborative agreement to be signed by participating institutions to undertake among others the following:

1.2 Collaborative Staff Research Programmes

Such research programmes will be undertaken by academic staff of participating institutions where they share common interest in a research area or doing some comparative research across countries.

Last modified: Monday, 29 August 2016, 12:27 PM